Garcia Research Group

Tanya P. Garcia's Research Group

Garcia Research Group


Tanya P. Garcia, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of Statistics, Texas A&M University

Excited about innovating practical and theoretically sound methods that address challenges in biomedical fields, Dr. Garcia has built a strong interdisciplinary research agenda. It involves national and international collaborations with neuroscientists and biologists, high-impact learning opportunities for students, and service work that promotes a future of diverse (bio)statisticians. Her research focuses on extracting maximal information from large, highly correlated data structures and has led to scientific discoveries in neurodegenerative diseases and the gut microbiome. Her teaching integrates these research activities with interactive, learner-centered projects that promote critical thinking. Her leadership in service activities involves promoting the success of underrepresented groups in (bio)statistics and providing her professional expertise regionally and internationally.

Dr. Garcia's research has attracted over $900,000 in competitive funding as Principal Investigator including grants from the NIH National Institute for Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) and Huntington's Disease Society of America. She publishes at a rate of 3 papers per year in top statistics journals including Journal of the American Statistical Association, Annals of Applied Statistics, and Bioinformatics. Her work is cited (inter)nationally by scholars in United States, France, Australia, Hong Kong, Canada, among others. She has earned competitive awards including the 2017-2018 NINDS Mentoring Institute for Neuroscience Diversity Scholars Fellowship; a fully-funded, visiting scholar invitation to the University of Sydney in 2012; and the 2011 American Statistical Association Gertrude M. Cox Award (awarded to two of 1200 applicants in North America). She has presented in over 35 invited department seminars and invited (inter)national conference sessions (rate of 5 per year).

Her research innovates new statistical methods that solve important neuroscience and biomedical problems and advances the underlying theory of those methods. Her work has contributed to four exciting areas: prediction models, model selection for high-dimensional data, regression models with measurement error, mean-covariance modeling for longitudinal data.


  1. Plenary Speaker at the 39th Internaional Symposium on Forecasting
  2. Mentoring Institute for Neuroscience Diversity Scholars (MINDS) Fellow (2017-2018)
  3. Southeastern Conference (SEC) Travel Grant Program Award, Texas A&M University (2016-2017)
  4. 14th Meeting of New Researchers in Statistics and Probability Travel Award (2012)
  5. SACNAS National Conference Travel Award (2012)
  6. Roadmap for a Succesful Academic Career Workshop Travel Award (2012)
  7. American Statistical Association Gertrude M. Cox Award (2011)
  8. Phi Kappa Phi Member, Texas A&M Chapter (2011)
  9. Ford Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship Honorable Mention
  10. Emerging Researchers National Conference in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Travel Award (2011)
  11. William S. Connor Award, Texas A&M University (2010)
  12. Building Future Faculty Travel Award, North Carolina State University (2010)
  13. Negotiating the Ideal Faculty Position Travel Award, Rice University (2010)
  14. Teaching Assistant of the Year in the Sciences, University of Western Ontario (2006)
  15. Summa Cum Laude Graduate, School of Physical Sciences, University of California, Irvine (2003)
  16. Phi Beta Kappa Member, University of California, Irvine (2003)
  17. Mathematics Departmental Service/Undergraduate Service Award, University of California, Irvine (2003)
  18. Outstanding Senior in Mathematics, University of California, Irvine(2003)
  19. Phi Beta Kappa Member, Univeristy of California, Irvine (2003)
  20. Ronald E. McNair Scholar, University of California, Irvine (2002-2003)
  21. Leadership Scholarship, University of California, Irvine (2000-2002)
  22. The National Dean's List (2000-2002)
  23. National Society of Collegiate Scholars Member (2001)
  24. National Hispanic Scholar Finalist (2000)